Governors’ Award

This year the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 2016 Governors’ Award is shared by two worthy programs.

Cox Communications Arizona celebrated its 20-year anniversary and a tradition of holiday giving to the students of Capitol Elementary School in downtown Phoenix with the “Build a Bike” program. Every one of the 700 students received a new bike, a helmet and a lock from Cox. They also coordinated a bicycle safety rodeo with the Phoenix Fire Department. The Board of Governors is pleased to honor this great program.

Alongside Cox Communications, we are awarding Arizona Public Media for their “Passing On” campaign. In tandem with the broadcast of the program “Passing On,” AZPM rolled out a web site, resources, and local workshops benefit anyone facing an approaching death in their family. The campaign also reaches anyone who wants to take action before the emotionally charged time comes.

Both programs will be honored with a Regional Emmy® Award Statuette awarded at the 2016 Gala on October 8. Congratulations!